Economic Letters

2021

30 September 2021

  • Labour market participation and employment composition of youths in Hong Kong: 1993-2020 (PDF)
    William Li
    This article analyses the dynamics of youths' labour market participation in Hong Kong and their employment composition from 1993 to 2020 as higher education became more popularised. The results suggest that (i) the overall labour force participation rate of youths declined along with the increase in the share of youths in full-time education, as full time students were less likely to participate in the labour market; (ii) most full-time students who opted to join the labour force engaged in part-time jobs, which was reflected in their sectoral and occupational compositions of employment; and (iii) an increasing proportion of youths not in full-time education engaged in the financing, insurance, real estate, professional and business services sector and higher-skilled occupations over time, especially for the older youths (aged 25-29). This was partly attributable to the educational upgrading of youths during the period.

29 July 2021

  • Impact of exchange rate movements of the Hong Kong dollar on consumer price inflation in Hong Kong (PDF)
    Eric Cheung and Victor Leung
    As Hong Kong relies predominantly on imports from outside sources for its supply of foodstuffs and consumer goods, local consumer price inflation is often influenced by external factors such as global economic and inflation conditions, as well as exchange rate movements. As such, there are concerns that the recent depreciation of the Hong Kong dollar alongside the US dollar against other major currencies may push up import prices, and hence, fuel price pressures in Hong Kong. This note analyses the extent to which Hong Kong's inflation is influenced by exchange rate movements (as measured by the import-weighted Effective Exchange Rate Index (EERI)). It is crudely estimated that a 1% year-on-year decrease in the import-weighted EERI would lead to a cumulative increase of around 0.1 percentage point in underlying inflation over one year.

16 July 2021

  • Hong Kong's long-term unemployment conditions since the recent economic downturn and compared with those in past downturns (PDF)
    Kelvin Wong
    This article surveys Hong Kong's long-term unemployment situation since the beginning of the recent economic downturn and compares the patterns with those in previous economic contractions in the past two decades or so. The long-term unemployment rate of Hong Kong surged from 0.6% in the second quarter of 2019 (the quarter before the recent recession) to a record high of 2.8% in Dec 2020 – Feb 2021. The sharp deterioration of the long-term unemployment situation during the recent economic downturn was even more drastic than those experienced in past economic downturns. This reflects the fact that COVID-19 seriously disrupted a wide range of economic activities, causing many persons to become unemployed within a short period of time and increasing the difficulty of finding a new job. As the local labour market improved more recently amid the gradual recovery of Hong Kong's economy and receding local epidemic, the long-term unemployment situation began to show some signs of improvement. The phenomenon was similar to past experiences that the improvement in the latter generally lagged that in the former by several months.

30 April 2021

  • An overview of the supply chain structure of major trade entities (PDF)
    Winnie Tse
    While global supply chains have traditionally been understood as a driver of economic efficiency along with globalization in the past decades, the interdependence therein has also introduced vulnerabilities to production. This article aims to map out the supply chain structure of the three biggest trade entities in the world, namely the Mainland, the US and the EU, and explores the potential impact of the disruptions in international trade on global supply chains arising from demand and supply shocks like the current pandemic.

16 April 2021

  • Impact of population ageing on productivity growth in Hong Kong (PDF)
    Leo Wong and Kelvin Wong
    As in many other advanced economies, Hong Kong's population is ageing rapidly. Besides affecting the stock of labour supply, the literature also suggests that ageing could have a negative impact on the productivity growth of an economy. This article aims to quantify the impacts of population ageing on Hong Kong's productivity growth. By analysing advanced economies using a panel regression, it is crudely estimated that population ageing would lower total factor productivity (TFP) growth in Hong Kong, and hence economic growth, by around 0.1 percentage point per annum during 2025-2044. The results suggest that the main channel through which ageing will affect Hong Kong's economic growth will be through dwindling labour supply.

30 March 2021

  • The potential impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on global poverty and income disparity: A literature review (PDF)
    Hector Cheng and Raymond Tsang
    The COVID-19 pandemic has severely affected people's livelihoods around the world and caused a profound impact on the global economy. With worldwide pandemic-related job losses and deprivation amid a deep global recession, there is a growing concern about vulnerable groups around the globe suffering from worsened poverty and income disparity. This literature review briefly summarises the methodologies and preliminary findings of major research articles on the anticipated impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on global poverty and income disparity from an economic perspective.

26 February 2021

  • An Overview of Universal Basic Income from an International Perspective (PDF)
    Kelvin Wong and Benny Lui
    The discussion of Universal Basic Income (UBI) has reignited in some advanced economies in recent years. Nevertheless, whether UBI can be taken on board as an implementable policy or even to fully replace existing social welfare measures of similar function has long been subject to notable controversy. This article reviews and compares the key features of selected UBI-related policies and experiments based on international experience, serving as an entry point to discuss some of the pros and cons and the potential possible impacts on public finance and social welfare.

18 January 2021

  • The effects of real exchange rates and income on inbound tourism demand for Hong Kong (PDF)
    Siu Yat Kui, Pascal
    This note investigates how real exchange rates and income (proxied by GDP) of selected Asian economies affected their visitor arrivals to Hong Kong during 2000Q1-2019Q1. Empirical findings show that appreciation of the real exchange rate of the origin economy (against the Hong Kong dollar) and increases in visitors' income generally induced more visitor arrivals to Hong Kong in both the short and long term. Furthermore, the impact of real exchange rates on visitors' travel decisions was usually reflected earlier than the income effect, matching the intuition that visitors might be quicker to decide to switch between destinations (a substitution effect between potential destinations caused by moving exchange rates) than to increase their amount of travel in general (an income effect).

經濟札記

2021

2021年9月30日

  • 香港青年的勞工市場參與及就業構成:1993至2020年 (只有英文版) (PDF)
    李俊軒
    本文分析在高等教育普及化下,香港青年在1993至2020年間的勞工市場參與及就業構成的變化。結果顯示:(i) 隨着接受全日制教育的青年比例上升,而他們參與勞工市場的比例相對較低,整體青年的勞動人口參與率下跌;(ii) 大部分選擇加入勞動市場的全日制學生投身兼職工作,這反映在他們行業及職業方面的就業構成;以及 (iii) 非正在接受全日制教育的青年投身金融、保險、地產、專業及商用服務業以及從事較高技術職業的比例隨時間推移而上升,而這情況在較年長的青年(25-29 歲)之中尤其明顯。這部分歸因於該時期青年的教育水平提高。

2021年7月29日

  • 港元匯率變動對香港消費物價通脹的影響 (只有英文版) (PDF)
    張晉瑋及梁栢豪
    香港的食品和消費品供應主要是從其他地方進口,因此,本地消費物價通脹通常會受外圍因素影響,包括環球經濟和通脹狀況以及匯率變動等。因此,最近港元跟隨美元兌其他主要貨幣貶值,有意見指進口價格或會被推高,從而増加香港的通脹壓力。本文分析香港的通脹有多大程度上受匯率變動(以進口貨值加權港匯指數量度)影響。粗略估計,進口貨值加權港匯指數按年下跌1%,將導致基本通脹率在一年內累計上升約0.1個百分點。

2021年7月16日

  • 自近期經濟下行以來香港的長期失業情況,並與過去經濟下行相比 (只有英文版) (PDF)
    王文傑
    本文檢視香港自近期經濟下行以來的長期失業情況,並與過去二十多年的經濟收縮時期的情況作比較。香港長期失業率由2019年第二季(近期經濟衰退前的季度)的0.6%急升至2020年12月至2021年2月的2.8%,為有紀錄以來的高位。長期失業情況在近期經濟下行當中急劇惡化的程度,甚至較過去經濟下行時期所見到的更為劇烈。這反映新冠病毒疫情嚴重干擾廣泛的經濟活動,令不少人士在短時間內失去工作,並增加找到新工作的難度。由於最近勞工市場隨着經濟復蘇及本地疫情減退而改善,長期失業情況開始有改善的跡象。這現象與過往的經驗相似,即後者的改善一般較前者滯後數個月。

2021年4月30日

  • 概述主要貿易實體的供應鏈結構 (只有英文版) (PDF)
    謝詠然
    隨著全球化的發展,全球供應鏈在過去數十年一直被認為在提高經濟效率上扮演重要角色,但當中引申的國際生產線相互依賴也令生產易受衝擊。本文旨在概述全球三大貿易實體 (即內地,美國和歐盟)的供應鏈結構,以探討如當前疫症大流行等需求和供應衝擊造成的國際貿易干擾,對全球供應鏈可能產生的影響。

2021年4月16日

  • 人口高齡化對香港生產力增長的影響 (只有英文版) (PDF)
    黃道揚及王文傑
    一如很多其他先進經濟體,香港的人口正在急速高齡化。除了影響勞工供應外,文獻亦指出人口高齡化可能會對經濟體的生產力增長有負面影響。本文旨在量化人口高齡化對香港生產力增長的影響。透過對先進經濟體進行縱橫資料迴歸分析,粗略估計人口高齡化會降低香港在2025至2044年期間平均每年全要素生產率增長率以至經濟增長率約0.1個百分點。結果顯示人口高齡化對香港經濟增長的影響主要來自勞工供應減少。

2021年3月30日

  • 新冠肺炎疫情對全球貧窮及收入差距的潛在影響:文獻回顧 (只有英文版) (PDF)
    鄭炯曦及曾家興
    新冠肺炎疫情已嚴重影響各地人民生活,並對全球經濟造成重大打擊。隨着環球經濟陷入深度衰退,與疫情相關的失業及匱乏情況遍及全球,各地的弱勢群體貧窮和收入差距同時轉差的情況日益受到關注。本文以經濟角度檢視關於新冠肺炎疫情對全球貧窮及收入差距的影響的主要研究文獻,並簡略總結這些研究的方法與初步結論。

2021年2月26日

  • 從國際層面上探討全民基本收入 (只有英文版) (PDF)
    王文傑及呂啟然
    近年有關全民基本收入的討論在個別先進經濟體再轉熾熱。然而,當中全民基本收入能否成為政策落實、甚或全面取代現行有類似功能的社會福利措施,向來存在相當爭議性。有見及此,本研究札記從外國經驗作為切入點,回顧及比較和全民基本收入相關的選定政策及實驗的特點,並就其優劣之處及對公共財政和社會福利體系的潛在可能影響,作出初步探討。

2021年1月18日

  • 選定亞洲經濟體的實際匯率和收入對香港入境旅遊需求的影響 (只有英文版) (PDF)
    蕭逸駒
    本文研究選定亞洲經濟體的實際匯率和收入(概括地以本地生產總值代表)如何在二零零零年第一季至二零一九年第一季期間影響訪港旅客數字。研究結果顯示,旅客來源地的實際匯率升值(兌港元)及旅客收入增加通常會導致短期和長期訪港旅客數字上升。研究亦顯示,實際匯率通常較收入更快影響旅客的外遊決定。這與直覺吻合,即旅客在決定轉換目的地 (由匯率變動引起潛在目的地之間的替代效應)需時大致較增加旅行次數(收入效應)可能更短。